16MS Not charging

Information relating to the Matchless G3 or AJS Model 16 350cc Heavyweight
Nick1957

16MS Not charging

Post by Nick1957 »

Hi i am new to this just bough a 1957 16MS. Generally in good nic but electrics are a bit of a mess =. 12v electronic everthing works except no charge when running. Battery is new, any pointers please
Thanks Nick
dave16mct

Re: 16MS Not charging

Post by dave16mct »

I would start by checking the output from the dynamo. Join terminals F and D together and connect to one side of a bulb or meter. Connect the other side to earth. The bulb should light when the bike is started if the dynamo is charging (or the output should show on the meter.) Other things to look for : has a fuse from the regulator to ammeter blown? Is the earth point clean and bright? Are the nuts on the ammeter contacts loose? Other loose or bad connections. What type of regulator is it?
Dave
SPRIDDLER

Post by SPRIDDLER »

Welcome to the website!
Wot Dave said above, plus there's a wealth of info (including wiring diagrams) in the factory manuals in the link below. Bear in mind that apart from the cosmetics your AJS 16MS is identical to the Matchless G3LS.

See here under 'Books'........

http://archives.jampot.dk/
'There is a tide in the affairs of men
Which taken at the flood............'
Nick1957

Post by Nick1957 »

Thanks guys also found the battery is discharging so have leak to earth as well.
clive

Post by clive »

Nick1957 wrote: Mon Apr 08, 2024 12:58 pm Thanks guys also found the battery is discharging so have leak to earth as well.